top of page

AGM and Committee for 2015/16 Announced!

Thanks to all of the members who turned up to the AGM to cast your votes for the new committee next year and give feedback and suggestions for our future committee. It was a drama filled AGM this year, with close run competition, draws, heart-wrenching plea speech tie-breakers, miscounts and RON nominations.

We also made history last night during our AGM with more female members on our committee than ever before, which is great news for the society, well done girls! The successful candidates and committee for 2015/16 are as follows, congrats to you all:

Sam Douglas: President:

For those that have gotten to know me during my time at UOC, they'll know how passionate I am about snowsports. I take UOC Snow with me everywhere I go... the library, the kitchen, Rosies and to bed. Literally eat, sleep and breathe skiing and boarding (even monoskiing) and I can't wait to get a hold of the reins next year and try to ensure we keep growing as a club. Stay Tuned…

Tayler Dean: Vice President:

I joined UOC Snow in my 1st year of university as a complete beginner and learnt to ski on the Christmas trip. I was awarded most improved skier first time around and earned team mascot award on this year’s trip. This year I have been the Vice President of Equestrian so I’m looking forward to applying that to snowsports. I’m ready for the challenge. It’s going to be sick!

Joe Manuel: Primary Social Sec:

I’m not the greatest skier, but yet still so fond of the pow. I am very enthusiastic about the upcoming year and have a lot planned for socials in Chester, on the trip as well as other events here in Chester. Here’s to a sweet year. Stay Gnarly.

Ned Sweeney: Secondary Social Sec:

Hi I’m Ned (Schneebly) Residential mincer and social secretary for the 2015/2016 term. First off thank you to my peers for voting me into the fold of this beautiful committee. I’ve been skiing since the age of 10 and coincidentally became gnarly then too. Love the social and the drink, looking forward to a sick year organising trips and socials. Peace.

Megan Clark: Communications Officer:

I'm Meg, the Communications Officer for 15/16 and best MEGA-trip smiler 2014. I learnt to ski at the age of 12 and have loved doing it ever since. I am looking forward to the year of skiing ahead and excited to see what the trips (..and socials) bring.

Kayleigh Hill: Treasurer (master of coin):

I’ve been skiing since I was 4 and have skied many top resorts in Europe and North America and I’m looking at doing my Level 1 instructor training over the summer. I love skiing and it’s my passion, as is UOC Snow. That’s why I’ll do whatever I can to make this year great for every member. I hope to see you all on events and socials, let’s make this the best year snowsports have seen yet!

Our dreams for next year:

  • To have regular race, freestyle and beginner sessions on varying days to ensure everyone gets an opportunity.

  • Current plans might see a weekly ski and board gym program, both for aerobatics training into foam pits and for snowsports focused muscle groups.

  • We will go to BUDS 2015.

  • BUISC this year was incredible and we want to make sure we have the right kit next year going to keep going forward.

  • More members. More socials and organised events.

  • And as for the trip, well of course it’s just going to keep getting bigger!

Big well done to the new committee and good luck leading the way next year, but also condolences to those that applied for positions but came up short… this time! A big thanks to this year’s committee, whose jobs aren’t over till summer, for all the hard work they’ve put in all year round and setting us up for a good year ahead!

Thanks to everyone that attended the AGM and casted their votes x

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page